Main News

What Should I Do If I Was Arrested For Marijuana Possession?

Date:
By Tyrrell Sampson
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

What Should I Do If I Was Arrested for Marijuana Possession

If you were arrested for marijuana possession, it is important to know your rights and to retain a criminal defense attorney to help you fight your case. It is possible to get your charges dismissed or reduced in some cases. An experienced attorney will be able to protect your rights and ensure that you receive a favorable plea bargain or dismissal. Marijuana possession is punishable by a fine, and can lead to imprisonment if you have a criminal history.

Marijuana charges can have a lasting impact on your life. Your criminal history can be revealed to potential employers, landlords, schools, and credit agencies. It can also cause you to lose financial aid, housing, and child custody. And it could land you months or even years in jail.

In the United States, marijuana possession can be charged as an actual or constructive possession depending on the circumstances. The state must prove that the individual had knowledge of marijuana and that they intended to distribute it. A D felony also requires that the marijuana contained 42 grams or more. Furthermore, failure to affix a drug stamp can be a D felony.

If you have been arrested for marijuana possession, the first step is to hire a criminal defense attorney. A good lawyer will explain the laws in your state and advise you on your options in the event of a conviction. A criminal defense attorney can also advise you on possible alternatives to jail time. These options may save you from jail and can help you keep a clean record.

Marijuana possession is illegal under Wisconsin law. A person caught with a small amount can receive a fine of $500 or even a year in jail. If they possess a larger amount, however, they could face a sentence of up to 20 to 40 years.

Penalties for marijuana possession are harsh. It can be punishable for a first time possession of just a few grams. If you have more than 30 grams, you will face felony charges. The minimum jail time for a first offense is 48 hours. In addition, you may have to attend a drug education class.

Although attitudes about marijuana are changing across the U.S., many states still have strict marijuana laws that make possession of the drug a felony. In Texas, for example, possession of up to two ounces of marijuana can land you in prison for 180 days. Those arrested for marijuana possession in Texas also face a hefty fine of $2,000 or more. If you have concentrated amounts of marijuana, however, you may face up to two years in state prison.

In Pennsylvania, marijuana is legal for medical use. However, it is still illegal for any person to possess or use marijuana without a medical marijuana card. Although many jurisdictions have decriminalized small amounts of marijuana, a felony conviction can lead to jail time and a permanent mark on your record. It is important to retain the services of a local criminal defense attorney to protect your rights.

Share with your friends on
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RELATED NEWS
Main News
Date:
The prosecution’s discretion as to where to bring a case lies in the hands of...
Main News
Date:
What is procedural criminal law? The term refers to the process of investigation, prosecution, and...
Main News
Date:
How Much Do Criminal Justice Lawyers Make? The average pay of a criminal lawyer is...
LATEST NEWS
Main News
Date:
Having to answer to a false accusation can be frightening. It may also mean paying...
Main News
Date:
Whether you are planning to buy or sell drugs, it is important to be aware...
Main News
Date:
Generally, white collar crime is a crime committed by business professionals for financial gain. It...